Monday Musings: Doesn’t anybody stay in one place anymore?

Shenzhen201345 357
Fab students. (all photos; AvaMingImages)

To use the words of Carole King’s wonderful song, a perfect match to my current sentimental mood.

It’s the time of year when my students spread their wings one after the other and fly to foreign shores. Yes, they do this all year round, but for some reason, after Chinese New Year and Spring Festival, the migration seems to be en masse.

It’s a real dichotomy for me as I’m so proud of them for pursuing and achieving their goals,yet I miss them terribly.

As we know many, Chinese students study in Western countries, but now, after having been witness to the mountain of preparation it actually takes to get there, I can honestly say that they don’t have an easy road and not everyone makes it.

Shenzhen201345 077

I’m reluctant to say goodbye because I know that probabilities of us meeting again are not high and even if we do, things won’t be the same. It’s hard to recreate the initial magic when time has moved on, people have matured and circumstances have changed.

In and ideal world, well, MY ideal world, my students would undertake their Australian, British, New Zealand or American degrees on-line in China, whilst visiting me regularly, but who am I to deny them the experience of living in a whole new world even as I do so myself?

All in all I’ve been lucky to have great students with fantastic personalities, ambition, dedication and determination. I wish them oodles and oodles of luck, love and fantastic adventures as they prepare to leave, even though they’re taking a piece of my heart with them.

Shenzhen201345 197

Leave a Reply

